News alert

Signup for our NewsAlert, and get an e-mail when new articles are posted...

RSS

The latest digital imaging news is also available through our IFA RSS service. Add the RSS feed to your news feeder and you will receive constantly updated articles on all the IFA news. To use our RSS service you will need an RSS reader, of which there are many available online.

IFA RSSIFA News Headlines
IFA Sitemap by CategorySitemap by Category
IFA Sitemap by BrandSitemap by Brand

Awards

Camera Previews

Camera Reviews

Digital Backs

Digital Cameras

Image Sensors

SLR Cameras

Underwater Housings

News by Category

News by Brand

IFA Shows

Websites we like

Nikon D7000 review

Dennis Hissink
IFA Report
Wednesday 15th, September 2010
Posted by: Dennis Hissink

Reviews IFA 2010 : Nikon is extending its D-series with a new SLR camera, the Nikon D7000. This is part of a nice series of SLR cameras, the D3100, D5000 and now also the Nikon D7000. A Nikon D9000 might just be the next model… The new Nikon D7000 is a whole new DSLR camera generation and falls between the Nikon D5000 and the D90, at least in terms of pricing. The D90 is still part of the picture, at least until it gets a successor (the Nikon D9000?). This Nikon DSLR is a camera aimed at the serious amateur photographer and offers a full package of camera-settings for creative photography as well as videography, as the Nikon D7000 supports Full HD 1080p video.

Read complete news story about : Nikon D7000
Nikon D7000

Samsung NX100 review

Posted by: Mark Peters Wednesday 15th, September 2010

Review IFA Show 2010 - The system camera product group is steadily advancing. They were a bit slow to get going, but with the arrival of new manufacturers such as Samsung, the speed is increasing. According to Samsung, the system camera will conquer 4% of market share in 2010, but it is expected to increase five times in 2011 to 20% of market shares in the DSLR and system camera segment. It is clear that this will be at the cost of part of the digital SLR camera market. The new Samsung NX100 is expected to be part of that increase. The Samsung NX100 is a 14.6 Megapixel system camera with an APS-C format sensor and a friendly price tag. That makes for a remarkable combination.

Read complete story about Samsung NX100

Olympus E-5 review

Posted by: Ilse Jurrien Wednesday 15th, September 2010

Review IFA 2010 - At the time of the official introduction of the Olympus E-1, the first Four Thirds DSLR camera, on sunny Mallorca, the first step was made to set up the Four Thirds System. I was present, in 2003, and got to know the first generation Four Thirds DSLR camera. In the years thereafter, a lot of models were added, but there were few high-end Four Thirds DSLR cameras. Four years later came the Olympus E-3, which was an improvement on many fronts, and a nice evolution. Three years later, I ‘finally’ have my hands on the Olympus E-5, the newest Olympus Four Thirds DSLR camera. Do we still have to wait for a new DSLR evolution?

Read complete story about Olympus E-5

Canon EOS 500D review

Posted by: Mark Peters Saturday 22nd, August 2009

In a slight up-tempo, Canon has introduced a new digital SLR, the Canon EOS 500D. At this time, the Canon 500D is ranked in between several existing EOS cameras such as the 1000D / 450D and the EOS 50D. This is already the sixth generation EOS digital SLR camera since the EOS 300D was introduced in 2003. In the meantime, a lot has been improved and renewed, and looking back, it is impressive to see how much has changed in a short period of time, which has certainly added to the image quality.

Read complete story about Canon EOS 500D review

Canon PowerShot review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Sunday 2nd, August 2009

The Canon PowerShot A2100 IS digital camera has the same measure-ments and weight as its predecessor. A handy format to carry with you at all times, also thanks to its reasonable weight, even though it is not ultra-light. The plastic material of the housing feels rough, and that is why the camera still feels safe in your hand despite the lack of a real handgrip. The design of the Canon camera is quite traditional with straight lines and softly curved corners. Several generations ago, the A-series still contained an actual handgrip, which made its appearance less compact. As for hand-fit, I prefer the older generation, which is by no means intended to diminish the A2100IS; it is just that the older design provided that little extra stability.

Read complete story about Canon PowerShot A2100 IS

Ricoh Caplio GX100 review

Posted by: Ralf Jurrien Monday 6th, August 2007

Many photographers dream of a compact digital camera with a fine zoom range, including a true wide-angle, one that gives a high resolution and can also store images in RAW. Until recently this remained just a dream. But fortunately there is the opinionated Ricoh, who seems to make the dream come true. With the DIWA Gold Award rewarded GR Digital, Ricoh already has an exceptional camera with a fine wide-angle and RAW support. The Ricoh Caplio GX100 takes it a step further: more wide-angle, more pixels and an optical zoom including image stabilization. What more can a photographer ask for? We have tested the Ricoh Caplio GX100 in our test lab, to explore if the camera truly lives up to the expectations.

Read complete story about Ricoh Caplio GX100

Panasonic Lumix FZ18 test photos

Posted by: Ilse Jurrien Wednesday 25th, July 2007

At the press conference in Dublin I was able to shoot with the new Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18 digital Megazoom camera. The Panasonic Lumix FZ18 is a camera for the photographer who is into a variety of photographic shooting. Although the camera is easy to handle and incorporates a range of pre-programmed scenes, it is offering a range of photographic settings like P/S/A/M for the more experienced photographer. I took the Panasonic camera with me to the Dublin area and was able to test the new intelligent camera features in combination with the MEGA O.I.S system. I have to remind you that the images of the Panasonic Lumix FZ18 are still a pre-production level, not final level!

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18

Panasonic Lumix FX33 test photos

Posted by: Ilse Jurrien Wednesday 25th, July 2007

At the press conference in Dublin I was able to shoot with the new stylish Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX33 compact camera. The Panasonic Lumix FX33 is a camera for the photographer who appreciates convenience shooting and a stylish design. The camera is easy to handle and incorporates a range of pre-programmed scenes, it is offering a range of intelligent camera features to make digital photography as simple as possible. I took the Panasonic camera with me to the Dublin area and was able to test the new intelligent camera features in combination with the MEGA O.I.S system. I have to remind you that the images of the Panasonic Lumix FX33 are still a pre-production level, not final level!

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX33


This year’s IFA show will be followed up with another big event, Photokina 2010. Although the Photokina 2010 will be the major show for digital imaging, we still expect IFA 2010 to be important and surprising as well. Already before the start of the IFA in Berlin a part of the digital camera introductions have already been made, among them some interesting digital SLR cameras. The IFA 2010 Consumer Electronics Trade Show is the moment to showcase the latest cameras and innovative imaging products. And maybe we will see products that combine the world of mobile and cameras. Quotes from high key persons within the imaging world point out to the fact that this could be the time where we will see a new segment of (mobile) imaging. The DSLR cameras and system cameras are still hot products and are responsible for a growing market share. Check out the IFA 2010 show for the latest digital camera news.